Benz Eye View: Spy

Spy
Spy

Pros:

The action scenes with Melissa McCarthy are impressive considering her…I am not going to say it.  For all I know, it may be a stunt double in a suit.

Jason Statham is surprisingly funny, particularly when he is being serious in many ridiculous moments.  Also, the other cast members are kind of funny as well.

…That is about it.

Cons:

The first act of this movie is the worst part.  It takes too long to get interesting since there are poorly executed expositions, and not-that-great jokes…

…Speaking of jokes, some of them can be outright distasteful for some people.  Then again, this movie does realize that, so I am not going to hate on it too much.

Most action scenes are in slow-mo way too many times.  I do not know why they are doing this, but my guess is that they are doing it to be cool, which it is not.

Overall:

I have heard that this movie is really good and funny, so I decided to check it out.  I can say that this movie is not for me.  I prefer not have a comedy that spends most of its time saying many one-liners, exposition jokes, and dirty humor.  I understand that this is supposed to be a satire for many agent movies…

Guess what this poster is making fun of.
Guess what this poster is making fun of.

…but only if it is done well and in my taste.  As for what the target audience that this movie is going for, it is fine if you enjoy the type of humor I mentioned.  All-in-all, this movie fits well for its audience, but not me.

6/10

*sigh* I want to watch Inside Out again…

Leave a Reply

