Benz Eye View: Goosebumps

Goosebumps
Goosebumps

Pros:

There are some pretty creative/old-time monsters in this movie.  For Goosebumps fans, it is nice to see their favorite monsters (if briefly for most).

The villain, Slappy is probably the most interesting character of the entire movie since he kind of reminds me of a somewhat child-friendly version of the Joker (ironically, he is played by Jack Black).

Cons:

This movie is not scary.  You may argue that it is scary for children, well I was in theaters with children, and not one of them is scared.

Jack Black as R.L. Stine?  He seems to be playing a typical anonymous paranoid character.

Yeah, I am not buying it.
Yeah, I am not buying it.

Not the worst I have ever seen, but the dialogue and acting need a little more work.  It may also be the writing that is at fault, but I say the two former ones are worse.

Overall:

Goosebumps is based on a children’s book series of the same name made by the real R.L. Stine (his picture is above), which I never read any of them (but I have seen a few episodes of the Goosebumps show).  When I first saw the trailers, I thought this movie was going to suck.  Now that I watched it, the movie is not that bad.  There are still some problems with it (i.e. pretty forgettable characters, some lame jokes, and poor horror), but I did like some of the few things they had (i.e. Jack Black despite not buying into his R.L. Stine role).  I recommend this to everyone (especially Goosebumps fans I hope) if you have nothing else to watch. If you are looking for a good comedy-horror movie, skip this one as the comedy is a bit weak and the horror is not frightening except with a few lame jump scares.

6/10

Leave a Reply

