Benz Eye View: Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope

Well, every single one of you (I hope) is preparing for the upcoming Star Wars: The Force Awakens movie.  I am just as pumped as you guys when I say that I cannot wait for the movie to come out already.  This gave me an idea: how about I do something a little special.  I am going to review ALL of the Star Wars films, give more in-depth overall analysis of what I think of them (may lead to SPOILERS), and give a bit of history of how and why these films are made.

Ladies and gentlemen, boys and girls, Jedi and Sith, Rebels and Imperials, I introduce you to…My STAR WARS MARATHON!

saga30-extended-credits.jpg
STAR WARS MARATHON!

What better way to start it off by reviewing the very first film of the series.

Star_wars_old
Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope

For the purpose of this movie only, I am watching the Blu-Ray version (I own the 2004 Special Edition, but my cousin, who borrowed it some time ago, forgot the disc for Episode IV, so I watched the Blu-Ray version online).

 

Pros:

The world of Star Wars is very immersive.  The aliens, the mythology, the lore, the settings, the costumes, and many more is what makes this film (and its sequels and prequels) so popular and unforgettable.

The story is a pure example of how to write for a film.  It gives an attention-grabbing first act, an exciting second act, and an exhilarating third act to end this film.  Not only that, it is reminiscent to old science-fiction and fantasy movies (i.e. Flash Gordon), a great example of the Hero’s Journey (which will span in the next two films), and gives amazing characters that you genuinely care for like Luke Skywalker, Princess Leia, and Han Solo.

The special effects and sounds (at least when they are unaltered) looks and sounds breathtaking .  They were ahead of its time, and is an example of how to create special effects and sounds in the near future.  Not only that, but the soundtrack by John Williams deserves high praise.  Everyone knows the main theme of Star Wars, so I do not need to say anything else.  You already got the idea.

 

Cons:

The special effects may not be that bad, but they REALLY stand out.  To be fair, there are a few hiccups from the old special effects (i.e. you can tell that they sped up the door opening).  There are other changes from the original unaltered trilogy, but since I grew up with the 2004 Special Edition, I do not mind as much.  However, for anyone who prefers the original trilogy with no changes, I understand and you have my sympathies.

r2newshots-george-lucas-won-t-ever-stop-changing-star-wars-episodes-iv-vi-jpeg-121208
How in the world did R2-D2 manage to get inside that cave?

The lightsaber battle between Darth Vader and Obi-Wan Kenobi did not exactly age that well, especially compared to the prequels’ fast-paced lightsaber battles or even the ones in Episodes V and VI.  It looks like the two are just waving small sticks at each other, hoping that it may actually hit them.

This:

Heh-heh.

 

Overall:

In May 25, 1977, Star Wars was released into theaters.  Before its release, the creation of the film was an utter nightmare.  There is pressure from 20th Century Fox to finish the film quickly or lose support, the special effects looked terrible, there were production problems, George Lucas was depressed and exhausted, and pressure was a big concern throughout the entire film-making process to the point where people questioned if the film was going to be finished at all.  Despite all of that, they managed to finish in time.  When it hit theaters, it was a HUGE success, and for very good reasons.  The first few minutes alone gave me plenty of pros that I would like to say for this review, but I am limited with just only three pros.  You have seen it, I have seen it, everyone has seen it.  If you have not seen it, shame on you, so go and see Star Wars Episode IV: A New Hope.  It is a film that changed how movies are made and anticipated.  A movie that inspired new filmmakers and audiences alike.  You can all thank that to the great George Lucas (until the prequels).

10/10

Stay tune tomorrow for my review of Star Wars Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back.  Until then, here is a somewhat mini-crossover between Darth Vader and Star-Lord.

Leave a Reply

