Benz Eye View: Hail, Caesar!

Hail,_Caesar!_Teaser_poster
Hail, Caesar!

Pros:

The movie has a good sense of old time atmosphere, particularly 1950s movie industry atmosphere.  In fact, this can be seen as a satire to the movie industry of that time thanks to some of its writing, making this a bit clever.

Since this takes place in the 1950s, the production looks swell.  With the cinematography, the setting, the costumes, and the settings within the settings look like they belong to that timeline.  For me, it feels like good-old nostalgia for many great films.

Considering this is a Coen brothers movie, of course the acting is good.  Josh Brolin, George Clooney, Alden Ehrenreich, and many others did great in their roles…

 

Cons:

… Despite that there are plenty of all-star celebrities in this movie that you assume have big roles, but most of them are barely in the movie.  Some of them have their own subplots, but they are either forgotten or just mentioned in a passing dialogue.

The tone can be inconsistent.  It has a good amount of dark comedy, but it suddenly switches to other tones that does not exactly work.  It goes to the point where it can come out of nowhere.  It makes the narrative pretty sloppy.

A nitpick: for a movie that takes place in the 50s, the in-movie moments they show have pretty good-looking images and audio.  The video and audio qualities are not supposed to be that great.  It should look like this:

Not when it looks like it was filmed today, but covered in black and white.

 

Overall:

I was excited for a new Coen brothers film, especially since the trailer looks so good.  I watched it, and…I will admit this: I am puzzled.  I did not know what to think of it.  There are some things about the movie that are great (this is a Coen brothers movie after all), and there are some that confused me.  I was not sure if it was because they were not clear, or I was being an idiot for not getting it.  I was so puzzled that I had to look for other reviews to see what they think of it.  After that, I got a clearer picture of what I think of this movie.  It is certainly not the best Coen brothers movie I have ever seen, but it is not that bad.  I can only recommend this to anyone who are hardcore movie people or people that are familiar with the movie industry, particularly during the 1950s.  Any average moviegoer is not going to like this movie at all, and will leave the theater confused like I initially did.  If you are a fan of the Coen brothers, hopefully you will get what they aiming.

7/10

Leave a Reply

