Benz Eye View: Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows

Teenage_Mutant_Ninja_Turtles_Out_of_the_Shadows_poster
Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles: Out of the Shadows

Pros:

1.) The movie gives more focus to the Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles instead of April O’Neil like they did in the last one.  It is called Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles for a reason.  At least, they learned their lesson there.

2.) The best part in the entire movie is the Brazil scene.  It has funny moments, tense action scenes (that reminds me of Uncharted 3: Drake’s Deception), and a CG mini-movie that works well on its own.

3.) There are plenty of fan service in this movie.  It has Bebop and Rocksteady, Casey Jones, Baxter Stockman, and Krang.  It really makes it look like it is going to be an actual TMNT movie.  How can they screw that up?…

 

Cons:

1.) …I will tell you how they screw it up: by making changes with these characters that not only insult what they actually are in the comics and cartoon shows, but also make them into something that might as well meant to be original, dumb characters.  The only ones that somewhat get away with the changes are Bebop and Rocksteady, and that is mainly due to one specific change that does not make sense, but I am willing to let it pass somewhat…

2.) …Speaking of things that are insulting, most of the things that happen have huge leaps in logic.  So many things are just REALLY stupid, and I cannot believe they manage to get away with it.  Logic takes a back-seat on how this movie operates.  Also, there is one big editing error I noticed: there is a fight scene with one powerful character against two other characters.  They did not even bother to show how the two characters beat the other.  How did they mess that up?

3.) While the CG is fine on its own, it does not exactly work when live actors are in place with them.  Also, I believe that there are frame rate issues, because there are times where the CG animation seem to be a bit static.  Someone really did not pay attention to those errors.

 

Overall:

I am a HUGE TMNT fan.  I grew up with the 2003 cartoon series, and loved it.  I have seen the 1987 cartoon series, and I appreciated it despite showing its age.  I have yet to see the 2012 version.  When it comes to movies, I am also a big fan of the 1990 and 2007 movies (it has been a while since I seen the 1991 and 1993 movies, so I cannot really form an opinion on them).  However, I am not a fan of the 2014 reboot movie.  To me, the changes they made on the TMNT were a disservice to what they are in the shows, original movies, and comics.  Now, a sequel has been released, and my feelings have not changed.  I just…I have no words on how insulting this movie is, not just as a TMNT fan, but also a moviegoer.  The writing, the directing, the animation, I cannot…*sigh*.  Do not watch it.  That is it.  Are there any good things about it other than the pros I mentioned?  Well, the theme song is cool.  It will not save the movie, but it is cool.

3/10

NTcover
Also, it is not a good sign when you unintentionally named your movie after a terrible video game.
Leave a Reply

