Benz Eye View: Widows

Widows_(2018_movie_poster)
Widows

Pros: 

1.) The cinematography deserves some credit.  There are plenty of long shots and use of mirrors that I like.  For the long shots, it helps the audience feel like that they are following these group of people who are robbing, planning, etc.  As for the use of mirrors, there are certain shots that make it look like two people are talking, but one of them is shown in a reflection.  I love it when cinematographers do those takes.  It just makes the film look so good.

2.) This one is short is simple: the acting is great, especially from Viola Davis.  I can comment more on the other actors as well, but it is slightly irrelevant considering these are well-known A-List actors who were directed by Steven McQueen, the director of 12 Years a Slave.  Not much to add here.

3.) There are some interesting character arcs.  With the four women attempting to rob a place, each of them has their own reasons for their actions.  However, the biggest focus of the group is Viola Davis’s Veronica Rawlings.  With the loss of her husband and the pressure of giving back the money to the person that her husband is robbing from, her emotions can range from emotionless to depression, and she has to act tough in front of the three women.  At a certain point in the film, she discovers something that changes her motivation and drive to commit the heist.  These women have their own struggles and growth that is laid out well.  Even the antagonists have a slightly interesting arc as well, though the focus is on the four women…

 

Cons: 

1.) …Rather, I should say three of the four women, because the last member to join has the weakest arc.  Belle (played by Cynthia Erivo) joins the group, because she needs money for herself and a friend of hers.  While it is not a bad motivation, the other three women have better and more interesting arcs, and Belle comes into the picture more than halfway into the film.  It is not as emotionally invested if this character is barely seen in the first half in the film, and then enters the heist gig in the second half.  If she had more screen time (and maybe add that if she had a husband that was killed alongside the widows’ husbands), she would probably be as interesting as the other widows.

2.) The film is long and slow-paced, and it barely works.  There are many scenes that are unnecessary.  Those include characters that are crying over and over again, background for certain characters that are not really needed for the plot, and few moments with the antagonists that do not bear any relevance to the main characters.  Creed II was long and slow-paced, but there were very few scenes that I found to be unnecessary.  Some scenes in Widows are more obvious, and it made the film feel longer.

3.) I am not a heist movie fan.  I find those movies to be boring up until the actual heist, and the characters are usually the same stereotypes I have seen with little interesting traits.  This film does not make me change my mind, but it does make it up with some good character arcs.  Some of the scenes are great, but the best one is the actual heist in my eyes.  I do like seeing what these characters are up to, but it barely escapes my disdain for heist movies.  This may not be a problem for you, but add the other cons, and it just does not help me like it at all.

 

Overall: 

Based on the 1983 TV series of the same name, Widows was getting so much attention when it was released.  At least for me, I was seeing so many ads of how this film is amazing and a must-see.  After finally watching it, I can see the appeal, though I admit that this film is not really for me.  For one thing, it is a heist film, and I have mentioned I am not a fan of heist movies.  I do recognize that this film is good, but even putting aside my bias against heist movies, there are some flaws that I cannot ignore.  It is a long film due to its slow pacing and unnecessary scenes.  It just hurts my enjoyment a little when I can see some potential in it.  To put it simply, this film is slightly overrated, but I can see why others enjoy it.  Heist fans might enjoy this film (not sure about the original Widows fans), just do not expect me to watch this again.

7/10

One thought on “Benz Eye View: Widows

Leave a comment