Benz Eye View: Toy Story 4

Toy_Story_4_poster
Toy Story 4

Pros: 

1.) Do I need to say anything about Pixar’s animation?  If there is one stand-out animated character, it is Bo Peep.  Considering she is made of porcelain, the glossy and shiny appearance from Bo Peep looks great.  All right, that will do with the animation.  If you are still not convinced, just watch the trailer.

2.) I really love the antagonist, Gabby Gabby.  Compared to the antagonists from the previous Toy Story films, she is the most relatable of them all.  I would say more, but I prefer if you watch the film yourself to get a better idea and impact on her character arc.  Overall, you will end up liking her more than the previous antagonists.

3.) The highlight of the film is the relationship between Bo Peep and Woody.  Bo has changed since Woody has last seen her, and it surprises and conflicts him how she sees the world now (even though it is convenient that this is the same Bo from years ago instead of a different one) compared to how he sees it.  Their years of romance shows, and her actions and beliefs would eventually cause Woody to make a choice near the end of the film.  While I kind of saw the end coming and did not really feel that emotional compared to the ending of Toy Story 3, I would not be surprised if many see it as a tearjerker.  I may not be a big fan romances since they usually follow a formula (and couples are usually all right in my eyes), but this film has made it a rare exception.

 

Cons: 

1.) Many of the major characters do not get much screen time as much as I have hoped.  The focus is only on Woody, Buzz, Bo, and many of the newcomers.  The rest of the original cast like Jessie, Rex, and Mr. Potato Head is sitting on the sidelines.  Many of them I like in the previous films, and they barely do anything in this film.  I know focus is on the main toys, but the film does cut back to them at times as a time limit for the main characters, resulting in them as wasted potentials to me.

2.) This is a nitpick, but considering that the new character, Forky was created with a spork and other arts and crafts, it brings up some scary ideas of how “toys” can be made and come to life (even the film acknowledges that at one point).  What is not a nitpick is his character arc.  He does not accept himself as toy, but as trash.  His character arc ends so quickly, it finishes right as the second act begins.  I see where the film is going, but I kind of wished that his arc goes by the entire film, not in just the first act.

3.) It can be slightly fast paced than it needed at times, even the slow moments.  The impact in some of the more emotional moments were weak as a result, though not all of them has this problem.  If the film can adjust its pacing so the audience can take in what is happening more, then I think this film would have been a little better.

 

Overall:

I love the Toy Story films.  I thought the original trilogy was a great arc for Woody and his friends, but when a fourth film was announced, I thought it was a mistake since I did not think it needed another film.  After watching the fourth iteration, I was wrong.  This film is just as good as its previous installments: it is fantastic.  Other than a few small issues and nitpicks that I noticed, Toy Story 4 is a perfect film to end the franchise (unless if they can surprise me with another well-made sequel).  This film reminds me why I love Toy Story as a child, and I continue to love it as an adult.  If you love the Toy Story as much as I do, go watch it.  After all, it is good to see these toys again, and how it reminds you of the journey they have been through for the last twenty-four years.

10/10

Leave a comment