Benz Eye View: Wonder Woman 1984

Pros:

1.) If I have to pick one actor who stood out to me the most, it is Pedro Pascal as Maxwell Lord. He is a charming businessman who wants to recover from his failing business via the Dreamstone, but he is also caring to his son who often visits him from time to time. Soon his wants grow into desires, and he becomes obsessed to get what he wants not just for himself but everyone in the world. Pascal was the most interesting and better actor out of all of the other actors to the point I think he clearly enjoys it at times. That says something about the title character for this movie, but I will get to that in the cons.

2.) While it was brief, I enjoyed the role reversal between Steve Trevor and Wonder Woman with the fish-out-of-water plot point. Having Trevor look around America in 1984 with Diana guiding him was pretty funny at times. It went on for a little too long in my opinion, but it did give a sweet moment between the two when Trevor returned.

3.) The ending was not too bad. Normally in superhero movies, there would be a huge battle between the hero and the villain, but in this movie, it does something interesting. I will not give away too much, but it is actually heartwarming and emotional that it even uses a certain musical piece from one of the previous DCEU movies. It is a good way to end the movie…

Cons:

1.) …However, the events that lead to that ending is not worth it. To begin, the writing is surprisingly poor. There are convenient moments, plenty of plot holes, confusing and sloppy moments, uninteresting and awkward characters (which could be on purpose if it was executed better) to the point where the chemistry between Steve and Diana was not working (for another reason, but I will get to that), and a few scenes that go nowhere. Add to the messy action scenes and editing, and you got something that many people will easily lose interest.

2.) Why does this movie take place in 1984 when it does not feel like it is 1984? There is a moment in the beginning of the movie that shows plenty of 80s memorabilia and maybe it can be argued that certain scenes fit into historical moments, but this can take place in modern times and it will not change a thing. Guardians of the Galaxy did a better job having a 70s to 80s feel, and that took place in space and in the present. Just have the movie take place in present time and call it Wonder Woman 2.

3.) I like Gal Gadot, but she seriously needs to improve her acting. I tolerated it in Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice, Wonder Woman (2017), and Justice League, but I cannot forgive it here. She cannot seem to be a convincing character throughout most of the movie, especially in emotional situations. In fact, there is one emotional moment that requires her character to cry because of a choice she has to make that she does not like, and it could have worked if Gal’s acting was much better. Her acting is one of the reasons why I started losing interest in Wonder Woman. She did a better job in the previous film, though to be fair, her role in that film did not require big emotional moments. For her sake, Gal has to do better when she reprises as Wonder Woman again, otherwise…I will be nice and say that the writing should at least back her up.

Overall:

With many movies now going to streaming since theaters are closed down (again), I might as well start with Wonder Woman 1984. As I said in the Wonder Woman (2017) review, I enjoyed Wonder Woman and her arc throughout that film. I wished I was little more constructive in that review, but I still enjoyed it nonetheless. Now, its sequel is now released in theaters and HBO Max, and I could not wait to watch it…and I am instantly disappointed; this sequel is nowhere as good as the original. Wonder Woman is uninteresting (Gal Gadot’s acting is not helping), the plot is nonsensical, the movie barely feels like it takes place in the 80s, plenty of characters are forgettable (other than Maxwell Lord due to the actor), action and editing are sloppy, and many other issues that hinder this movie. There are a few things that help this movie, but not enough to save it. If even Birds of Prey looked better in my eyes, this movie seriously messed up. I hope this is not a sign that the DCEU is declining again, otherwise I doubt the DCEU will reach its ten-year anniversary.

3/10

Leave a comment