Benz Eye View: One Piece Film: Red

Disclaimer: I have NEVER watched any episode of One Piece or any of the numerous movies available. I know there are over a thousand episodes for this show, so I feel unqualified to review this movie. Still, I will do my best from an outsider’s perspective. Here goes nothing.

Pros:

1.) This movie has some decent animation and great fight scenes. One thing that is emphasized in my opinion is the colors; it is bright, shiny, and colorful not because of the anime hairstyle, but through the wide shots of the setting and the fight scenes. While I wish that the camera angles are not too close, I admire how chaotic (probably a bit too chaotic) the fight scenes are to show how powerful and fast these characters are fighting. As I expected for a movie based on one of the most popular animes of all time.

2.) I do like the songs throughout the movie. While a bit overused at times, they can be entertaining and has some narrative purpose considering the main antagonist is a singer. They can range from cheesy and entertaining to rough and provoking. At least it would show that the singer has different ranges.

3.) The only character I liked in this movie (aside from Red-Haired Shanks) is Uta (voiced by Kaori Nazuka). Since she is a movie-only character (I assume), she is the only one who has a decent character arc. Her growth from being a singer who has resentment issues with Shanks to something better is an acceptable development…

Cons:

1.) …I cannot really say the same thing for the rest of the characters which is coming from someone who has never watched One Piece. There are so many characters to begin with that it is hard for me to tell who is who other than their appearances (why is one of the members of the Straw Hats a skeleton with a hoodie?). The only other characters I can recall other than Uta are Luffy (voiced by Mayumi Tanaka) and Red-Haired Shanks (voiced by Shūichi Ikeda), and I like Shanks considering he is the calmest out of most of the characters in this movie. Luffy has a character arc, but it is not as strong as Uta’s. I am sure fans of the show will not see that as a problem, but newcomers sure will.

2.) I know this is a movie based on a popular anime, but I found its world to be absolutely ridiculous. For starters, it begins with several people who are homeless and hungry while complaining that the Navy is terrible, but the pirates are worse since they caused their issues. Then, the next scene shows a J-Pop-like stadium with those same people celebrating with Uta (there is a narrative reason for it, but it looks ridiculous at first glance). We have characters that act in stereotypical anime fashion (more on that later) and out-of-place technology in a piracy-age world with an anime edge (why is one visual technology literally a snail that also happens to be a phone?). However, I am willing to forgive all of this despite its over-the-top anime nature…

3.) …What I cannot forgive is the main plot. Basically, a singer wants to help the world from its suffering from pirates, and she does this via her singing that has special and terrible powers, so Luffy and the others have to stop her from going out of control. If that does not intrigue you, then you are going to hate this movie especially if you are not a One Piece fan. It goes a little excessive with the concept, though it does have its emotional moments despite the delivery could have been better. What kills it for me are so many anime cliches and stereotypes/exaggerations from magical girl-like transformations to exaggerated villains that prevent me from giving this movie an average score. I am sure fans of the show do not mind, but not everyone is going to like it.

Overall:

I feel so unqualified to review this movie, but since there was nothing to watch (other than Ticket to Paradise and another Japanese religious cult movie which I both missed and have to wait a couple more hours for it), this movie was my only option. I recognize the popularity of this anime, but I have not seen it considering there are over one thousand episodes and several movies (not counting the numerous video games and manga as well). I can tell you that I am not the right audience, because I think this movie is not for me. With many anime cliches and stereotypes, a ridiculous world, numerous characters with little screen time, and a main plot that would make a magical girl anime jealous, I cannot get into this movie. I am not sure if the fans will love it, but I do not recommend this to newcomers at all. Maybe I will watch the actual anime one day, and maybe I will enjoy this movie by the time I have seen most if not all of the episodes and movies, but until then, this ship is one I prefer not to sail.

4/10

Leave a comment